Will You Parole Early? See TDCJ’s Consideration Chart
Convictions involving assaults, specifically family violence, carry a heavier price than many other convictions. Among the most important price is eligibility for parole early. The Texas Department of Criminal Justice has a “severity” chart that emphasizes offenses involving assault, even those you may not first think would count. For example, TDCJ considers Online Solicitation of a Minor an “assault” offense even though that offense does not involve physical contact. While not all of these offenses themselves are “3g” offenses for the purpose of parole eligibility, they are the offenses that very often contain a “deadly weapon” finding, which also impacts parole eligibility.
The TDCJ severity chart can be found at https://www.tcjs.state.tx.us/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/Offense-Severity-Scale.pdf
“3g” Offenses for Determining if you can Parole Early
The “3g” offenses belonged to the now repealed section 42.12. However, the “3g” section of that statute now lies in section 42A.054 with much of the same language. This statute limits a Judge’s ability to grant community supervision. For the purposes of getting parole early, however, this list serves to limit when the inmate becomes eligible for parole.
The “3g” Offenses, for purposes of parole, are:
- Criminal Solicitation (of an offense punishable as a 1st degree felony)
- Aggravated Kidnapping
- Some Trafficking of Persons
- Indecency with a Child
- Sexual Assault
- Aggravated Sexual Assault
- Injury to a Child (if punishable as 1st degree)
- Aggravated Robbery
- Certain Burglar
- Aggravated Promotion of Prostitution
- Compelling Prostitution
- Sexual Performance by a Child
- Certain Possession Cases
For purposes of getting parole early, any offense involving a deadly weapon also falls into this category. Organized crime also falls into this category.
In circumstances involving the offenses or other factors mentioned above, the “waiting” period is the lesser of 1/2 the sentence or 30 years. However, the minimum term before becoming eligible is 2 years. Tex. Gov’t Code section 508.145(d).
For most other cases, however, the waiting period is the lesser of 1/4 of the sentence or 15 years. Tex. Gov’t Code 508.145(f).
More about Mimi Coffey & The Coffey Firm
When people look for a Top DWI Attorney or Best DWI Attorney, they look for experience, certification, and respect in the legal community. Mimi Coffey is a nationally-renowned trial attorney, board-certified in DWI by the NCDD. She has been practicing for over 24 years and is an author of multiple DWI Defense textbooks. She is also a national and state-wide lecturer on the law.
The Coffey Firm handles a wide variety of cases, including Unlawful Carrying Weapon (UCW), Assault (including family violence), and Possession charges. We can also help you try to get a DWI off your record or avoid probation revocation.
Mimi is also listed on several “top criminal lawyer near me” directory listings such as Wise County DWI Lawyers, Tarrant County DWI Lawyer, Dallas County DWI attorney, Collin County DWI attorneys and Parker County DWI attorneys. Mimi is a caring DWI Lawyer in Dallas – Fort Worth. She is also involved in the Texas Tech School of Law foundation and enjoys using the skills she has developed to give back to the community.