When you get a DWI in Tarrant county it is natural to feel ashamed, alone, deeply disappointed in yourself and even angry. It is also natural when falsely accused to feel deep resentment, bitterness towards the police and rage over feelings of being violated and disrespected. If you get down on yourself please know that there will always be an end to this saga. “Drink. Drive Go to Jail” is NOT the law. “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over” is NOT the law. Know that many good people have been where you’re at.
When you face a DWI in Tarrant County it can be scary, intimidating, and exhausting. Throughout the process of your case, you will want a caring, knowledgeable, and hard-working team on your side. The Coffey Firm will help you through this process.
Each of our attorneys work hands on to ensure that you will feel comfortable, and made aware of all of your options. Our confidential evaluations are free, all you need to do is call us!
Did you know that for a DWI:
Still be charged if you are under .08 despite this being the legal amount?
Face charges for DWI based on prescription medication, marijuana, or drugs?
Most large north Texas counties have magistrates on standby to get a warrant for blood if you refuse to give a sample of breath or blood? Essentially, there is no such things as “No refusal weekend” anymore.
You have a right to refuse to answer questions in a DWI (must submit to handing over license, insurance and registration)?
You have a right to refuse to perform the field sobriety tests. The U.S. Supreme Court does require you step out the vehicle?
The National Highway Safety Administration (NHTSA)’s standardized field sobriety tests have been subject to scientific peer review criticism?(for eg. Dr. Spurgeon Cole study, Dr. Steve Rubenzer paper)
Texas law requires that all blood tests be submitted with a margin of error?
Finally, there are all kinds of scientific issues and concerns with proper breath and blood testing?
How do I find out if my drivers license is suspended or revoked?
You can go to the Texas DPS Website
1st DWI: Class B Misdemeanor, 3 – 180 Days, up to $2,000 fine
2nd DWI: Class A Misdemeanor, 30 Days – 1 Year, up to $4,000 fine
3rd DWI: 3rd Degree Felony, 2 – 10 Years, up to $10,000 fine
DWI w/Child Under 15: State Jail Felony, 6 Months – 2 Years, up to $10,000 fine
** If you get charged with a DWI with a B.A.C. of over .15 you will automatically be charged with a Class A Misdemeanor**
About Mimi Coffey
When people look for a Top DWI Attorney or Best DWI Attorney, they look for experience, certification, and respect in the legal community. Mimi Coffey is a nationally-renowned trial attorney, board-certified in DWI by the NCDD. She has been practicing for over 24 years and is an author of multiple DWI Defense textbooks. She is also a national and state-wide lecturer on the law.
The Coffey Firm handles a wide variety of cases, including Unlawful Carrying Weapon (UCW), Assault (including family violence), and Possession charges. We can also help you try to seal your record or avoid probation revocation.
Mimi is also listed on several “top criminal lawyer near me” directory listings such as DWI Lawyers for Wise County, DWI Lawyer Tarrant County, DWI attorney Dallas County, DWI attorneys Collin County and DWI attorneys Parker County. Mimi is a caring DWI Lawyer in DFW, She is also involved in the Texas Tech School of Law foundation and enjoys using the skills she has developed to give back to the community.